Full Form of DM is District Magistrate

Dm Full Form is also known as the District Magistrate (DM) is the custodian of bureaucratic management in the Indian state. He is also responsible for enforcing law and order in his area. The justices of the peace come from the Middle English word “judge,” which means “civil servant responsible for administrative law.”

Posting of DM

District judges and conductors are the officers in charge of a district, which is the basic administrative unit in India. He is also known as a regional collector or deputy commissioner in many Indian states. Generally, they are referred to as DM or DC. There are about 718 provinces in India. Each is run by the DM. [1] He was assisted by many officers at headquarters as well as at lower levels of management such as subdivisions and blocks. These posts, often referred to as deputy collectors, belong to the service of the district government, while DMs are always members of the Indian Administrative Service, who are appointed by the Union Public Service Commission.

They are appointed by the state government from a group of Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officers, who are at Level 13, Level 12 or Level 13 in the state. IAS members are directly appointed by the Federal Public Service Commission, promoted by civil servants (SCS) or appointed by non-civil service states (Non-SCS). Immediate hires are hired as collectors after five to six years of service, while civil servant graduates typically occupy these positions after advancing international accounting standards, which typically last two decades Occurs after service. The investigating judges and collectors are transferred from the position by the state government. [Usually] Office holders usually hold the post of Deputy Minister / Deputy Minister or Director in the Government of India.

In some Indian states, members of the provincial civil service are also appointed as collectors. Although it is against federal regulations, it is justified based on the need or lack of sufficient IAS officers.

Functions and responsibilities:

  • The executive director runs the criminal court for judges.
  • Maintain law and order.
  • Conditional formatting.
  • Overseeing the subordinate judges ‘executive officers and judges’ investigations.
  • Listening Cases under the Prevention section at KUHAP.
  • Supervising prisons and approving the implementation of the death penalty.
  • Inspection of police stations, prisons and youth homes in the area.
  • Delegating conditional release orders for those arrested.
  • Weapons and ammunition license under the Weapons Act.
  • Preparing named committees to appoint additional public prosecutors and public prosecutors, in consultation with the judges of the summary courts.
  • Disaster management during natural disasters such as floods, famines or disease outbreaks.
  • Crisis management during riots or external aggression.
  • Child labor / employment related problems.
  • Running a revenue court.
  • Mediation in land acquisition, valuation and revenue collection.
  • Collection of arrears of income tax, excise, irrigation fees, and debt.
  • Registration of property documents, sale procedures, power of attorney, indictments, dismissal certificates, etc.
  • Issuing various types of official certificates, including SC / ST, OBC, EWC, residency, citizenship, marriage, etc.
  • Assistance and rehabilitation.
  • Evacuation and guarding of property abroad
  • And they searched the various district offices, divisions, and demolitions.

Administrative services IAS-India. DM-DM IPS-India Police Service. IFS- Indian Foreign Service.

Is the DM and Collector the same ?

The collector is also known as the magistrate and in some areas the deputy commissioner. So the conductor, county judge, or deputy commissioner are the same. District collectors are members of the Administrative Services of India and are appointed by the state government.

Duty of DM

The District Magistrate is directly responsible for maintaining law and order in the state and requires the necessary action under the Criminal Procedure Law. The separation of the executive and judicial powers has significantly weakened the judicial roles and responsibilities of the Council of Ministers.

Salary Of DM

If we talk about the salary of DM, then the monthly salary of DM is about 75000 to 1.5 lakhs, their salary is every month because DM is an IAS officer, hence DM salary also comes under this and in addition to salary Also DM gets lot of facilities, DM salary comes under senior service, they have a private accommodation and a private car and many such facilities, which benefit DM.

How To Become DM ?

Now you must have known who the DM is and the full form of DM now comes. To become a DM, you have to pass the CSE exam conducted by UPSC every year, after which you become an IAS officer. . One can get a promotion on becoming DM.

If you want to become a DM, then you have to pass this IAS exam, without this you can not become a DM under any condition, but first of all, you will also have the qualification and age limit that you need to become a DM.

Age Limit for UPSC Exam

There is a different age limit for each class to become a District Magistrate, that is, for the IAS exam, if you are from the general category, then your age should be 21 years to 30 years and for the OBC class there is a relaxation of 3 years. Along with this age limit has been kept from 21 years to 33 years and for SC and ST, 5 years’ exemption is given, which ranges from 21 to 35 years for SC and ST category.

Qualification for UPSC exam

To become a District Magistrate, you need a graduation degree in any subject from a graduate college from a recognized university if you can join the IAS examination to become a DM once you graduate.

UPSC Exam Selection Process

To become a district witch, you will need to take an exam sponsored by UPSC CSE (Civil Service Examination), after which you become an IAS officer. Every step you have to go through, only then can you become a d.m.th. DM.


To take the UPSC test, you must take a preliminary test, in which there are two tests, in the first letter you are asked 100 questions and in the second letter 80 questions, both letters contain 200-200 points. Pass the preliminary exam, then call the main exam.


Anyone who passes the preliminary exam can only take the main exam, in the main exam you have to give 9 letters, which is about 1750 numbers, but your reward list is based on 7 cards, and the rest is 2 letters, you only have to pass, if you pass the main exam, it will be You are only summoned to the next stage of the interview


Interview will only include candidates who pass this very important major exam and the final stage after becoming an IAS officer. In interviews, you are asked to answer a variety of questions. And if you pass the interview, you become an IAS administrator, after you are promoted to an IAS officer, you become a DM, where you want to become a DM, you can also choose your personality.


Author: Admin